The Waiting

075

Waiting for what?… I hear you ask.In this case, our summer holiday in beautiful Tobermory, on the Isle of Mull. This holiday has been booked since January and it still feels like it is a long time off.This week, as temperatures have soared and the sun has shone down upon us, it feels like summer has started. My mind is full of a desire to pack our bags and head North but sadly I am going to have to wait a few months. However, it doesn’t mean that we can’t have some summer fun whilst we are waiting. I think that the problem is that we can become so fixated on a future event, that we forget to make the most of the time in between. This has been a bit of a strange week which has reinforced the old clichè that yes, life really is too short.

It was brought to my attention, in last week’s soaring temperatures, that my older two children had completely grown out of all their Summer footwear. Whilst trainers might be considered ‘cool’ in some respects, they certainly aren’t in others. So off we went on a girlie shopping trip.

001.JPG
Frozen flipflops? Who knew…

It was really good fun. The girls had a giggle trying on sun glasses, several pairs of flipflops were purchased and we all enjoyed spending some time together. It made me think that holiday anticipation and planning can actually be a fun activity in its own right.

009.JPG
Nice hat!
011.JPG
Cool shades
002
Probably an essential purchase for Scotland in August!

It all went marvellously until we got home and realised that Tasha’s lovely new coat still had the store security tag attatched (and yes I did pay for it and obtain a receipt)! Oh how I laughed (I actually said several naughty words)! When we left the store, someone else had just set the alarm off and the security guard was testing their purchases to see which one it was. It beeped as we walked out but everyone assumed it was that. So that’s my Sunday morning sorted, taking it back to the shop, because you really can’t remove those things!

020.JPG
Pretty toes!

Out came the nail polish as soon as we got home. My eleven year old and five year old soon put me to shame with their summer ready feet!

In other news, this week I have managed to get myself a new job as a social media administrator, for a local company. I would never have had the confidence to apply for this position if I hadn’t of started this blog and begun to promote it on social media. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to read my ramblings. It really is appreciated. I need something to keep me busy whilst I’m waiting for my holiday!

2 thoughts on “The Waiting

Leave a Reply

